Skip to main content

Legal & Regulatory Environment

The purposes of the Committee include, but are not limited to the following: to help ensure that this State’s laws concerning the reporting of and responses to hate-based crimes and incidents (including extremism) and discrimination are widely known, are effective, and are consistently and timely applied; to identify gaps in law and to make recommendations to the Commission for statutory, regulatory or programmatic changes necessary to identify and eliminate hate-based crimes and incidents (including extremism) and discrimination. The Committee may convene meetings for the purpose of multi-jurisdictional information-sharing and gathering, involving a wide variety of stakeholders, including all levels of law enforcement, community organizations and representatives, officials, and other experts and shall report its findings to the Commission.

Committee membership includes Chair Jason Rosenweig, Cochair Amy Meek, Commissioner Brendan Kelly, Commissioner LaDon Reynolds, Commissioner Julie Justicz, Commissioner David Goldenberg, Commissioner Cindy Buys, Commissioner Mona Noreiga, and Commissioner Andy Kang

Committee Meetings

This committee provides public notice about the public meetings that it will hold on the third Thursday of each month from 3:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Remote and virtual access via WebEx will be made available for public attendance.

No upcoming events