Skip to main content

Education & Outreach Committee

The purposes of the Committee include, but are not limited to the following: to foster coordination between law enforcement, subject matter experts, and stakeholders at the local, State and federal levels in the reporting, prevention and response to hate-based crimes and incidents (including extremism) and discrimination; to work with educators throughout Illinois on issues concerning the same; and to make recommendations to the Commission for education or outreach necessary to identify and eliminate hate-based crime and incidents (including extremism) and discrimination. The Committee may recommend to the Commission the holding of public hearings and establishment of a diverse Advisory Board of stakeholders and community partners to: provide broad representation of Illinoisans to; inform the work of the Commission; ground the Commission’s work in the current experience of diverse Constituents; and disseminate and advocate for the recommendations and best practices generated by the Commission.

Committee membership includes Chair Anita Banergi, Cochair Dr. Dilara Sayeeed, Commissioner Melineh Kano, Commissioner Molly Uhe-Edmons, Commissioner Jason Rosenweig, Commissioner Andy Kang, and Commissioner Karen Tamley.

Committee Meetings

This committee provides public notice about the public meetings that it will hold on the third Thursday of each month from 3:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Remote and virtual access via WebEx will be made available for public attendance.

No upcoming events